10k at -22C REALLY!?!?


The time will not be recorded.  The track is not official either.  Yet I feel great.  I just ran 10 kilometers or 6.5 miles, whatever you want to call it, at -22 with the wind chill (before the wind chill it was really only -15C).  It has been literally years since I have run more than 8k so this was big, for me.  I am beyond what I would call “my prime” but from what I have heard, up until around 60 years old, it is possible to run faster than when you were “in your prime”.

No not sprinting.  Long distances such as 8, 10, 14 kilometers.  What’s with that?  I don’t feel any faster.  My pace is about the same, anywhere between 8:45 and 9:30 a mile.  So my victory is very personal.  Sharing, however is important because if there is someone who is trying to determine whether or not they are ready to take up running – I hope I can help.

I am not in crazy great shape but I am getting better, that is for sure.  My weight has dropped slightly to 185 lbs, or 84 kg.  When Thursday night hockey comes around I am able to keep a higher pace up longer.

And then there’s the weather.  The great equalizer.  But why does it have to get colder on the days that run?  I know there’s millions of runners out there saying “are you kidding?”.  I have the feeling many more millions still have no concept of running in cold weather.  Not cold as in rainy and 5 or 10 degrees – we’re talking about the coldest start to winter in a gazillion years… maybe more.  It really hasn’t been above -10C for longer than 36 hours in Edmonton since mid November.  This is nuts and I am still not afraid.  I will conquer longer distances and more runs.  I will run the Hypothemic Half.

And to all you runners who run only in temperatures hotter than +25C…bring it.  Run a mile or two in my shoes…spikes optional.

Leave a Reply

